Joseph Smith (A Revisionist History)

HOW MORMONISM COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED

Joseph Smith retired to his bed in Palmyra, NY, one evening in 1825. Around midnight, a shining angelic being appeared to him in his room. Calling himself Moroni, the angel spoke in a powerful voice, called Joseph by name, and said he had come from God with a special message.

Joseph Smith and the Visitation by the Angel Moroni

Joseph was dazzled by the light and the mesmerizing voice of the angel, but soon composed himself. He remembered his lessons from the church he had grown up in.

“I’m sorry; you said your name is Moroni? I don’t remember that name from the Bible.”

“Yes, Joseph. I am Moroni. I have come to anoint you as a prophet.”

Joseph nodded. “That’s very flattering, but I need to make sure you are truly from God, if that’s all right with you. After all, John tells us believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.[1] The last thing I want to be is a false prophet.”

The angel grinned. “You can trust me, Joseph.”

“Also, as you probably know, Moroni,” Joseph said, indicating his leather-bound King James Bible on the nightstand, “when Paul warned the Corinthians about false apostles, he said that Satan himself is transformed into an angel of light[2]. Now – funny coincidence, isn’t it? – here you are, an angel of light, appearing to me. Forgive me if I remain a little skeptical for the time being. Why have you come here?”

The angelic light flickered a little. “Have faith, Joseph,” came the reassuring voice. “I have been sent to you to announce a new testament in these latter days.”

“Moroni, with all due respect, the Holy Spirit revealed to Paul 2000 years ago that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils[3]. How do I know that this new ‘new testament’ isn’t just a demonic lie, a clever way for Satan to keep people away from the truth of the gospel in these ‘latter days’?”

“Ah, Joseph, but I have come to you to reveal a new gospel, one the Church has kept hidden for centuries.”

“A new gospel, you say? Well, now I am very suspicious. Paul told the Galatians that though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed![4]

“Ach!” the angel exclaimed. “Don’t say that word!”

“What, ‘accursed’? Anathema? Hmmm. Tell me, Moroni, are you accursed? Are you a fallen angel? Are you under the judgment of God? In the name of Jesus Christ, ruler over all, I command you to leave me!”

The angelic light suddenly blinked off. Joseph was alone in the darkness and quiet again. He lit the lamp and sat down on the edge of the bed to read the words of James, Resist the devil, and he will flee from you[5]. Joseph said a small prayer of thanks for the power of Christ in him to win this victory. At peace with himself and with God, he doused the light and slept well.


[1] I John 4:1.

[2] 2 Corinthians 11:14.

[3] I Timothy 4:1.

[4] Galatians 1:8.

[5] James 4:7.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

