My Lamb

or, The Clash of Cain and Abel

An Original Lyric and Composition (see video below)

By faith Abel brought God a better offering than Cain did. By faith he was commended as righteous, when God spoke well of his offerings. And by faith Abel still speaks, even though he is dead.

Hebrews 11:4

Abel’s First Song

You are Lord of everything
You don’t need my offering
You’ve given me a song to sing:
Oh, my lamb!
Oh, my precious lamb!
Dying in my place!

Oh, give up your pride,
Abase yourself, crawl to His side
His arms await you, open wide
Oh, my lamb!
Oh, my perfect lamb!
Dying in my place!

Cain’s First Song

Pathetic brother, so undignified
Have you no shame? Have you no sense of pride?
Your bloody altar is a vile disgrace
Killing a lamb: such an appalling waste!
And groveling on bended knee!
At least I have my dignity.

To ‘master sin’ is what He asks of me
This I shall do, and do it faithfully
I’ll strive to keep His law and His commands
Offer Him all the works of these two hands
You say my life seems hard and grim
My duty is to honor Him.

Cain’s Second Song

Don’t glare at me; you would have done the same
Now let’s move on, and never speak his name
He made a mockery of all we love
He made a fool of me; I’d heard enough!
I had to bring it to an end
So now the world is safe again.

Don’t cry for him; he never earned your tears
Remember me, so faithful all these years
I’ve stood beside you, father, never strayed
In all this time, I’ve never disobeyed
Never asked for anything,
Now let’s prepare the offering…

Abel’s Second Song

Oh Lord, you paid the price
The one atoning sacrifice
Secures my place in Paradise:
Oh, my Lamb!
Jesus, spotless Lamb!
Dying in my place!

Oh, give up your pride
Abase yourself, crawl to His side
His arms await you, open wide
Oh, my Lamb!
Oh, my precious Lamb!
Dying in my place!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

